RSS

Old Blogger, New Tricks

21 Mar

*looks around curiously* Wow. ^^  I feel a little like Alice in Wonderland, journeying to a brand new and strange place. I hope you’ll bear with me while I adjust!

I’m no stranger to blogging, actually. I’ve maintained a blog on livejournal for almost ten years now, detailing everything from life in China, to fandom participation, to my volunteer work, to sheer mindless ranting. I’ve resisted getting a wordpress account for a while now because I didn’t want to keep track of more than one online blog. However, I’ve changed my mind about that.

You see, most of my LJ is now blocked to everyone except myself. The reason for that is mainly because I didn’t adjust well to Shanghai life when I first arrived. I was naive, inexperienced in everything from teaching to living away from home, and I vented quite a bit in my journal. In hindsight, looking back on those earlier entries, I was actually quite narrow-minded, and yes, even racist in some of them, though I honestly didn’t see it until I’d grown up a fair bit.

I adore Shanghai. I have for a few years now. But my LJ will always be tainted by those first 3 to 4 years of running commentary, and I never feel comfortable pointing people to it because of my earlier idiocy. I’ve decided it’s time for a fresh start. While I will keep my old LJ for fandom purposes and fun, here is where I will post most of my ideas and advice for new teachers in China, in the hopes that it will prevent others from making the same mistakes and assumptions about this beautiful country and its welcoming people that I did.

So welcome to my new blog! I hope you take away some interesting facts and tidbits that will help you decide whether or not China is the right fit for you as an ESL/EFL teacher, and what to do in certain situations. I think that’s enough of an intro for now though – see you soon!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
